« the healing tree | Main | what is eating me? »

introducing the mufas

the who?  

The MUFAs...

MUFA (MOO-fah) is an abbreviation for mono-unsaturated fatty acids.

In other words, MUFAs are heart healthy foods that are high in fatty acids.

and yes...we need to eat them (in moderation, of course).

Here's why:

There are five categories of MUFA's.  

1. Oils

2. Olives

3. Nut and Seeds

4. Avocados

5. Dark Chocolate

Fatty acids are the essential building blocks for all dietary fats.  

Unsaturated fats, that's MUFAs, glide through your bloodstream bringing health and protection for your arteries. 

Don't stay trapped in the "diet" mentality after weight loss surgery. Mufas are plant fats, that when eaten in moderation, keep you healthy. Healthy fats help "carry" or deliver nutrients to your body.

After surgery keep fats around 5 grams per meal. Remember this is a guide not a rule. Around 5 grams per meal is a healthy limit to control dumping too much fat into your system at once.

A 1/4 of an avocado, for example, has 7.4 grams of healthy fat, 1 grams of protein and 4.3 grams carbs, and 3.4 grams fiber. and .3 grams sugar. That makes avacadoes a low-carb, low sugar, health friendly plant food. Avocados do not contain any cholesterol or sodium and are low in saturated fat and high in fiber. 

Yes, we can. We have many more miles to go!

for more on healthy MUFAs, oils, nuts, seeds and even chocolate click here.

PrintView Printer Friendly Version

EmailEmail Article to Friend